My Love of Film Has Become an Obsession

I really like movies.  I could watch them all day and not get tired of it.  I like dissecting them.  There’re some movies I could watch 50 times in a row and get something new out of it each time.  Some stick with me more than others.  Sometimes I’ll watch a movie and it’ll be all I think about for the next 2 weeks.  Music and movies are a bit of an obsession of mine.

The other day while I was in the car with my mom I told her about how when I see a movie that I really like I’ll watch it repeatedly maybe 4 or 5 times in a row if I can.  Then I asked her what her thing is that she likes to dissect and analyze.  She said she feels that way about music, but she doesn’t analyze it as much when she listens to it.  This made me think about obsessions and passion.  It’s interesting to me how some people have certain passions in life and others don’t.  That’s just a bit odd to me.  There are some things that people know they’re passionate about, while there are some other people who don’t have a passion for specific things.  It’s the idea that people can be wired so differently no matter the circumstance in life that’s interesting I guess.

There’s no point to what I’m trying to write.  I’m not even quite sure of what I’m trying to say.  This may just be a result of the state of mind that is formed after you watch Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind everyday for 4 days.  Hopefully this rant is somewhat coherent.

Leave a comment